Track & Symposia

The conference program will include three symposia to honor the recipients of the 2018 SES Medals as well as thematic symposia grouped in four tracks: Frontiers of Engineering Science, Engineering and Mathematics, Engineering and Physical Sciences, and Engineering and Life Sciences. Each symposium will be co-chaired and co-organized by two eminent scientists in the topic of the symposium.

The current list of approved symposia in each track can be found below. Symposium organization proposals in additional topics not included below are requested before December 6th.

Track 1 - Medal Symposia

  • 1.1 Prager Medal Symposium to honor Prof. Lallit Anand
    Chair: P. Reis, EPFL
  • 1.2 Taylor Medal Symposium to honor Prof. Howard Stone
    Chairs: Y. Huang, Northwestern University and H. Gao, Brown University
  • 1.3 Engineering Science Medal Symposium to honor Prof. Nancy Sottos
    Chair: P. Geubelle, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Track 2 - Frontiers in Engineering Science

  • 2.1 Multiscale modeling of structural materials: from atoms to components
    Chairs: D. Kochman, ETH and M. Ponga, University of British Columbia
  • 2.2 Plasticity, fracture and fatigue: Theory, simulations and experiments
    Chairs: F. Dunne, Imperial College, and M. D. Sangid, Purdue University
  • 2.3 Mechanics of instabilities and failure in solids and structures
    Chairs: J. A. Rodríguez-Martinez, Carlos III University of Madrid, and K. Ravi-Chandar, University of Texas at Austin
  • 2.4 Advanced manufacturing (including additive manufacturing)
    Chairs: T. Pérez-Prado, IMDEA Materials Institute, and V. Nguyen, John Hopkins University
  • 2.5 Experimental mechanics across multiple length scales
    Chair: J. Molina, IMDEA Materials Institute
  • 2.6 Coupled problems
    Chair: A. J. Gil, Swansea University, and G. Scovazzi, Duke University
  • 2.7 Soft Robotics
    Chair: J. Paik, EPFL
  • 2.8 Fluids-structure Interaction
    Chairs: P. Reis, EPFL, and F. Gosselin, Polytechnique Montréal
  • 2.9 Mechanics of composite materials and structures
    Chair: C. S. Lopes, IMDEA Materials Institute


Track 3 - Engineering and Mathematics

  • 3.1 Data Science and Mechanics
    Chairs: L. Stainier, Ecole Centrale Nantes and M. Ortiz, Caltech
  • 3.2 Phase field models
    Chairs: D. Tourret, IMDEA Materials Institute, and A. Karma, Northeastern University
  • 3.3 Model reduction and data-driven methods in computational sciences and engineering
    Chairs: F. Chinesta, ENSAM ParisTech and J. G. Michopoulos, US Naval Research Laboratory
  • 3.4 Mathematical and computational scale bridging techniques
    Chairs: C. Reina, University of Pennsylvania and B. Svendsen RWTH Aachen
  • 3.5 Multiscale Fluid dynamics
    Chairs: A. Masud, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and G. Hauke, University of Zaragoza


Track 4 - Engineering and Physical Sciences

  • 4.1 Mechanics and Electrochemistry of Energy Materials
    Chairs: M. McDowell, Georgia Tech, and Bai-Xiang Xu, Technical University Darmstadt
  • 4.2 Structural materials for energy storage and harvesting
    Chair: J. J. Vilatela, IMDEA Materials Institute
  • 4.3 Mechanics of architected metamaterials
    Chairs: J. Greer, Caltech, and L. Meza, Cambridge University
  • 4.4 Mechanics and physics of soft materials
    Chairs: O. López-Pamies, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and K. Danas, Ecole Polytechnique
  • 4.5 Atomistics (DFT, Ab-initio, MD, etc)
    Chair: S. Keten, Northwestern University
  • 4.6 Microfluidics
    Chair: P. Arratia, University of Pennsylvania
  • 4.7 Mechano-chemistry active materials
    Chair: S. A. Chester, New Jersey Institute of Technology


Track 5 - Engineering and Life Sciences Track

  • 5.1 Cellular mechanics
    Chair: Marino Arroyo, Polytechnic University of Catalonia
  • 5.2 Growth and remodeling of living matter
    Chair: Kristin Myers, Columbia University
  • 5.3 Mechanics of biological and bioinspired materials
    Chairs: A. T. Akono, Northwestern University and C. Hellmich, Vienna University of Technology
  • 5.4 Mechanics of the brain
    Chairs: A. Jerusalem, Oxford University, and P. LeDuc, Carnegie Mellon University

Important Dates

  • December 6, 2017
    Submission deadline symposium organization proposal

  • December 22, 2017
    Decision on symposium organization proposals

  • February 1, 2018
    Abstract submission opens

  • March 31, 2018
    Deadline abstract submission

  • April 30, 2018
    Abstract acceptance

  • July 30, 2018
    Registration deadline for presenting authors

  • October 10-12, 2018
    SES 2018 Conference

organized by

hosted by

Agency / Contact

Adcomm Century

Adcomm Century s.l.
C/ Telegrafía, 1 - Bajo E
28044 Madrid, Spain
phone: +34 671 916 660
fax: +34 671 916 660
e-mail: info@adcommcentury.com

Technical Support

EventClass GmbH

EventClass GmbH
it - solutions for the event management